Saturday, June 20, 2009

Fight Club

We'll start this out with my favorite movie "Fight Club". I'll give you that it is an AWESOME movie and that it pretty much does not have any faults but I'm going to do this right anyhow.

1. This is one of the most cynical movies ever.
I am a very cynical and pessimistic person. I think people are all evil, stupid, and petty. Not that there is anything wrong with that it is just human nature. This movie makes my point of view on humanity seem pleasant. Chuck P. must be a very jaded person to think people are as twisted as he believes them to be. I'm sure there are some but is extreme in all cases. The reason the events of "Fight Club" have not come about is because he is so extreme and people just aren't that twisted yet.

2. How in the hell did this movie have a 'happy' ending?
After everything that happens through out the movie they somehow give us a happy ending. What the hell is that all about? I understand the American (And by this I mean United Statesian) desire for closure but this was really ridiculous. This movie should have kept the tragic ending from the book or even made a new tragic ending because really they just don't deserve happiness at the end. Buildings fall, everyone dies.

3. Some shit just doesn't make sense.
During one scene Jack (Edward Norton) goes to work and he is clearly awake and not sleeping at all. He returns home from work to find out that Tyler (Brad Pitt) went and rescued Marla from her attempted suicide and had an all night sexfest with her. Either one or the other could not have happened but their are other people involved in both situations who are not crazy and would not be imagining Jack/Tyler.
Nobody ever tells Jack that he is Tyler until the ending reveal. How the hell does he manage to go all through Fight Club without ever catching on? Didn't he notice when the guys were all "Hey Tyler you want another beer?" Why the hell would the people that found him fighting himself not call the police and find him help? I know if I went into NYC and started hitting myself in a dark parking lot I'd be arrested in minutes. Why do people let an obviously crazy person lead them in a crazy rebellion against the status quo? Yes he had his followers but at least one of them should have had the sense to say "This guy is a total whack job."

4. This movie was meant by its creators to be a dark comedy.
The drama and the suspense were just a side thing for them. This movie is meant to be funny and only really jaded people with very dark sense of humor find dying/struggling to live people in support groups very funny. Yes, I find the movie hilarious, no I don't think a normal well adjusted person should feel that way. If the average person wasn't unhappy with life than this movie would not be nearly as popular. It was made to appeal to unhappy people. What kind of people choose that as a target market? I guess smart people...

5. The movie preaches a philosophy that is actually illegal to live by.
Almost everything he does in this movie is a crime. There are actually people out there who are stupid enough to try and recreate the things in this movie. Knowing that your target audience is the people your story is about, disgruntled, jaded, and bored, why would you give them ideas of things to do that will get them thrown in jail or killed? Okay Robert Paulson's death scene is an attempt to say "Don't try this at home" but how many times has that warning worked on the people who are stupid enough to do this stuff anyway?

Want to know why your favorite movie sucks? Let me know what it is and I'll see if I can tell you.

Coming Soon: Twilight, Harry Potter, The Matrix, The Notebook, Star Wars, Lord of the Rings, Indiana Jones, and any other suggestions I get to.

0 comments: